What are the modes of orijikan?

  • The modes currently used in orijikan come from the major, melodic minor, neapolitan major, harmonic minor, harmonic major, melodic major, neapolitan minor, hungarian, byzantine, enigmatic, whole-tone, and diminished scales.

The modes used in the weaving of orijikan are not restricted to the church modes.  In fact, any scale other than C ionian can be said to be a “mode” relative to it since only C ionian is all natural and thus all other scales must by more “accidental” than it.

“Scale permutation explanation”

Consult this page [lnk] for more information on these scales and their modes.
“Ionian as origin; everything else relative”

The most complete accidental network to date incorporates 73 modes from 12 different scales, each scale consisting of seven tones spanning one octave.  If instead we have seven tones spanning two octaves, this would be known as a heptatonic 2-scale; if spanning seven octaves, a 7-scale; and so on.

Heptatonic scales with steps only (21 modes)

(ionian, dorian, phrygian, lydian, myxolydia, aeolian, locrian)
(ion, dor, phr, lyd, myx, aeo, loc)
(Maj1, Maj2, Maj3, Maj4, Maj5, Maj6, Maj7)

Melodic Minor
(jazz, javanese, lydian augmented, lydian dominant, hindu, superlocrian, altered)
(jaz, jav, lda, ldd, hin, slo, alt)
(Jaz1, Jaz2, etc)

Neapolitan Major
(Nea1, Nea2, etc)

Heptatonic 2-scale with skips only


Heptatonic 7-scale with jumps only


Heptatonic scales with one skip (49 modes)

Harmonic Minor
(Har1, Har2, etc)

Harmonic Major
(Hrm1, Hrm2, etc)

Melodic Major
(Mlm1, Mlm2, etc)

Neapolitian Minor
(Nem1, Nem2, etc)

(Hun1, Hun2, etc)

(Byz1, Byz2, etc)

(Eng1, Eng2, etc)

Non-Heptatonic scales (3 modes)


(Whf, Hfw)